Obaseki declared winner of Edo 2016 guber election

Obaseki declared winner of Edo 2016 guber election


Godwin Obaseki of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared the governor elect of Edo state, following the conclusion of electoral proceedings.
Nineteen candidates vied for the ticket to the Government House, however, the main contest was between Godwin Obaseki of the APC and Andrew Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

After collation from 17 local governments, a final report from Ovia South West showed that the APC had 12,820 votes while the PDP had 8810, bringing the sum total of votes to 319, 483 and  253173 respectively.

In a final announcement by Professor Kayode Soremekun the returning officer, the APC had 319,483 while the PDP had 253,173.

Professor Soremekun further informed that the total valid votes was 582,299, with total votes cast at 613,244 and rejected votes at 30,945.