Katsina Assembly impeaches Speaker, Whip

Katsina Assembly impeaches Speaker, Whip


*Elects new Speaker, Whip

Speaker of the Katsina State House of Aseembly, Rt Hon. Aliyu Muduru, has been impeached today, Wednesday, February 15 by members of the House, during plenary.

The motion for the impeachment of Muduru was moved by the House Majority Leader, Hanbali Faruk, representing Katsina state constituency, and the motion was seconded by the member representing Funtua state constituency, Abubakar Total.

The Point learnt that 23 out of the 34 members of the House voted in favour of the impeachment and removal of the Speaker.

Shortly after the removal of Muduru, the lawmakers also elected Yahaya Abubakar, from Kusada state constituency as the new Speaker.

The new Speaker was sworn in during the plenary session.

In the same vein, the House Chief Whip, Bishir Dutsin-ma, was also removed and replaced with the member representing Daura state constituency, Nasir Yahaya.