Friday, February 23, 2024

3 out of 9 Buhari’s aspiring Ministers resign to contest 2023 poll

Uba Group

Barring further developments, at least three ministers in the cabinet of President Muhammadu Buhari has tendered their resignation letters following the directive by the president that those eyeing elective posts within the cabinet should bow out of his government.

The three ministers who have resigned are Emeka Nwajiuba, Minister of State for Education; Senator Godswill Akpabio, Minister of Niger Delta Affairs; and Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation.

Nwajiuba’s resignation was announced during the FEC meeting on Wednesday, May 11, and later confirmed by the Senior Special Assistant to the President, Garba Shehu.

Akpabio’s resignation was confirmed by his personal assistant on media, Jackson Udom, while Onu tendered his resignation at the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation on Wednesday, May 11.

In all, nine ministers are affected by President Buhari’s order that all members of the Federal Executive Council running for elective offices should submit their letters of resignation.

Others who are directly affected by the president’s directive are Abubakar Malami, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation.

Malami recently declared interest to run for the Kebbi governorship seat.

Also affected are Rotimi Amaechi, Minister of Transportation, who announced his interest to contest the presidential election during an interview in April.

Chris Ngige, Minister of Labour and Employment, also wants to run for president, while Uche Ogar, Minister of State for Mines and Steel wants to become the next governor of Abia State.

Pauline Tallen, Minister of Women Affairs is gunning for Plateau South Senatorial seat in Plateau State.

Timipre Sylva, Minister of State for Petroleum is also affected by the President’s directive to resign if they must pursue their various political ambitions.

Popular Articles