APC shocks PDP, wins two senatorial seats in Delta


The All Progressives Congress shocked the Peoples Democratic Party in Delta State as it won Saturday’s National Assembly elections in Delta Central and Delta South Senatorial Districts of the state.

Uba Group

The Independent National Electoral Commission declared Ede Dafinone, a renowned accountant and son of late Senator David Dafinone winner in Delta Central senatorial district, while Thomas Joel-Onowakpo, a former Chairman of the Delta Board of Internal Revenue (DBIR) won in Delta South.

The Returning Officer for Delta Central, Prof. Ezekiel Agbalagba, announced Dafinone as the winner at the INEC Collation Centre in Ughelli.

According to Agbalagba, Dafinone of the APC polled 109,197 votes to defeat his closest rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Ighoyota Amori, who scored 101,385 votes to come second.

The electoral umpire also announced that the candidate of APGA, Peter Omaruaye, scored 17,523 to come distant third, while the NNPP polled 4,721 votes.

Meanwhile, Joel-Onowakpa defeated the candidate of the PDP for Delta South, Micheal Diden, alias Ejele in the keenly contested election.

According to the results announced on Tuesday at INEC office in Oleh, the APC candidate polled 49,955 votes as against the 47,656 scored by PDP to win the election.

With the result, the PDP is left with Ned Nwoko of Delta North as the only PDP senator from the state that will be in the 10th Assembly.