Deputy Gov., SSG, Chief of Staff, 10 Commissioners resign in Sokoto


Uba Group
The Deputy Governor of Sokoto State, Manir Muhammad Dan Iya, alongside the Secretary to the State Government, Mallam Sa’idu Umar, have tendered their resignation letters to Governor Aminu Waziri Tambuwal.

Uba Group

The Chief of Staff to the governor, Mukhtar Umar Magori, with 10 commissioners in the state also resigned their appointments.

The Commissioners who designed are that of the Ministries of Finance, Environment, Youths and Sports, Lands and Housing; as well as Careers and Security, Abdussamad Dasuki, Sagir Bafarawa, Bashir Gorau, Aminu Bala Bodinga and Col. Garba Moyi (retd.) respectively.

Others are Commissioners of Commerce, Works, Water Resources, Solid Minerals and Religious Affairs; Bashir Gidado, Salihu Maidaji, Shuaibu Gwanda Gobir, Abubakar Maikudi Ahmad and Abdullahi Maigwandu respectfully.

It was gathered that Tambuwal had accepted their resignations.

The resignation of many of the appointees may be connected to their ambition to run in the coming general elections.

Section 84 (12) of the Electoral Act 2022 (as amended) stipulates that “No political appointee at any level shall be voting delegate or be voted for at the Convention or Congress of any political party for the purpose of the nomination of candidates for any election.”

The timetable released by the Independent National Electoral Commission indicated that political parties have till June 3 to file their nominations for the general election.