Edo APC youths take over party secretariat over governorship primary


Angry youths and women have taken over the All Progressives Congress secretariat in Benin, Edo State, as they demanded the sack of the state executives led by acting Chairman, Jarret Tenebe over Saturday’s governorship primary election.

The poll produced three winners.

The Chairman of Electoral Committee of the primary, Governor Hope Uzodimma, announced Dennis Idahosa as winner, while returning officer, Stanley Ugboaja, declared Monday Okpebholo as winner.

Also, Ojo Babatunde, who claimed to be representing the returning officers in all the local governments declared Anamero Dekeri as the winner of the election.

The crowd, led by the party’s youth leader, Tony Adun, popularly known as Kabaka, forced their way into the offices and brought out pieces of furniture, bags of rice and other equipment.

They vowed to occupy the building for seven days.

Adun said they were protesting against the conduct of the officials at Saturday’s primary election of the party, which threw up three winners, noting that it was obvious the executives worked against the party.

He vowed that they would not leave the premises until the exco is dissolved.

They also said that they would cook, eat and stay there for seven days.

Adun said, “It is clear that the party exco in the state are no longer working on the interest of the party so it is time for them to leave.

“We are here in solidarity with Dennis Idahosa who the party has nominated. We call on party members to back Idahosa’s candidacy in the governorship election in September.

“As you can see, we are here in large numbers, youths and women, to show our displeasure over the way the exco handled the election.”