F1: Verstappen wins Spanish Grand Prix


Uba Group

Uba Group


Red Bull’s Max Verstappen has become the championship leader in Formula 1 after winning the Spanish Grand Prix in Montmelo on Sunday.

It appeared as though it was going to be another victory for Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, who had a 19-point lead over Verstappen coming into the race, but an engine failure in the 27th lap caused him to retire.

Mercedes’ George Russell was the immediate beneficiary, but then Red Bull’s Sergio Perez overtook him and kept the lead before allowing Verstappen, his teammate, to see the race home.

The latter part of the race saw Mercedes star Lewis Hamilton emerge towards the front, finding himself in fourth spot after being last at one point, but a warning from the garage about a potential DNF penalty saw him give up a place to Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz.

Perez, who finished in second place was unhappy to give up first place, saying “we will have to speak later” when speaking with the people in the Red Bull garage at the end of the race.