FG approves eight new universities


In the effort to ensure effectiveness in Nigerian education, the federal government has approved the establishment of eight new private universities around the country.
The point learnt that the minister of state for education, Anthony Anwuka, disclosed this while addressing state house correspondents at the end of Wednesday’s federal executive council (FEC).
According to him, the ministry of education had sought for approval after the NUC made recommendation.
The universities are Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos; Arthur Jarvis Akpabuyo University, Calabar, Cross River; Clifford University, Owerinta, Abia; Coal City University, Enugu; Crown Hill University, Kwara; Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo; Kola Daisy University, also in Ibadan; and Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State.