FG Inaugurates committee to Nigeria’s Independence Day


Federal Government has inaugurated a 15-man Inter-Ministerial Committee to organise the celebration of Nigeria’s 63rd Independence Day anniversary. The committee is headed by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, George Akume, alongside Special Adviser to the President on Policy and Coordination, Hadiza Bala Usman.

Uba Group

Akume said the committee was constituted to plan, organise and execute all approved activities befitting Nigeria’s 63rd Independence Day anniversary celebration on October 1, 2023.

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation explained: “The celebration provides an opportunity to reflect on the contributions and sacrifices of our national heroes and heroines who fought for the independence of Nigeria from colonial masters.

“It also affords the government an opportunity to showcase its achievements in dealing with myriads of challenges in social and economic sectors confronting the nation. Based on the foregoing, it is expedient to note that time is of essence regarding preparation.”

He said proposed activities would be subject to finalisation by the committee and would involve the following, to be anchored by sub-committees: World Press Briefing, September 25; Church Service, October 1; Juma’at Service, September 29; Symposium/Public Lecture, September 28; Presidential Broadcast, October 1; and Parade, October 2.

He added: “The terms of reference of each sub-committee and list of members would be sent by the secretariat while sub-committee secretaries would present their budgets for consideration and approval as soon as possible.’’

Members of the committee include: Minister of Information and National Orientation; Minister of Interior; Minister of Foreign Affairs; Minister of FCT; Inspector General of Police; Commander of the Guards Brigade; Director of DSS; Special Adviser to the President on Policy and Coordination; Permanent Secretary, General Services; Permanent Secretary, Ecological Project Office; Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health; Permanent Secretary, Special Services Office; and Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office.