Gale of Expulsion Sweeps 26 Aregbesola loyalists Out of Osun APC



A season of ill-wind continues unabated in the Osun State chapter of All Progressives Congress as the State Executive Committee on Thursday announced the expulsion of more ardent loyalists of the immediate past Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola.

Aregbesola and incumbent Minister of Marine and Blue Economy, Gboyega Oyetola have been enmeshed in irreconcilable rift which has polarized the Osun chapter of the then ruling party in the state.

For allegedly committing anti-party activities by creating parallel organ and factionalising the party, the party leadership, loyal to Oyetola, expelled 26 loyalists of Aregbesola.

Recall that the party had on Wednesday sacked 84 members of the party including a former factional chairman of the party, Rasaq Salinsile and the Commissioner for Political Affairs and Inter-Government Relations under the Ademola Adeleke led Peoples Democratic Party government, Biyi Odunlade.

The party chairman, Tajudeen Lawal, in a statement, said Osun APC had constituted a Disciplinary Committee to investigate allegations of anti-party activities against some members.

Lawal disclosed that the disciplinary measure came in response to the allegations of misconduct bordering on factionalization of the party and creating parallel party organ, of which the 26 chieftains of the party were allegedly guilty of.

“The Disciplinary Committee undertook a thorough and impartial review of the allegations and the findings were carefully deliberated upon by the State Executive Committee.

“After a comprehensive assessment of the evidence and consideration of the committee’s recommendations, the State Executive Committee has taken the difficult yet necessary step of suspending the following members indefinitely:

“Alhaji Moshood Adeoti, Hon. Najeem Salami, Senator Mudasiru Hussain, Elder Adelowo Adebiyi, Mr. Adelani Baderinwa, Mr. Sikiru Ayedun, Engr. Kazeem Salami, Alhaji Adesiji Azeez, Barr. Gbenga Akano, Mr. Kunle Ige, Mr. Biodun Agboola, Barr. Gbenga Awosode, Mr. Rasheed Opatola, Hon. Gbenga Ogunkanmi, Hon. Israel Oyekunle, Hon. MBO Ibraheem, Mr. Akeem Olaoye, Hon. Francis Famurewa, Hon. Tajudeen Famuyide, Hon. (Mrs.) Adenike Abioye, Hon. Wasiu Adebayo, Hon. Rasheed Afolabi, Mr. Segun Olanibi, Mr. Tunde Ajilore, Mr Ganiyu Ismaila Opeyemi, Mr Zakariah Khalid, Olaoluwa-South LCDA.”

Meanwhile, Aregbesola’s name was not among those expelled.

“As we move forward, we enjoin our members to remain focused on our goals and continue working together to serve the interests of our constituents and our state.

“Our commitment to transparency, inclusivity, and adherence to our party’s core values remains unwavering,” Lawal said.