House of Reps to screen Service Chiefs on Monday



Uba Group

The Ad-hoc Committee set up by the leadership of the House of Representatives will on Monday screen the recently appointed Service Chiefs by President Bola Tinubu.

The Service Chiefs are Major General C.G Musa as Chief of Defence Staff; Major General T. A. Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral E. A. Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal H.B. Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

The Ad-hoc Committee, headed by the chairman of the Committee on Defence in the 9th House, Babajimi Benson (APC- Lagos), was constituted last Tuesday.

Speaker Tajudeen Abbas who at plenary, announced the setting up of the Ad-hoc Committee, said all the eight principal officers of the House from the majority and minority parties would be part of the ad-hoc committee.

The Majority Caucus has Julius Ihonvbere (APC, Edo) as Majority Leader; Abdullahi Ibrahim Halims (APC, Kogi), Deputy Majority Leader; Bello Usman Kumo (APC, Gombe), Chief Whip; and Adewunmi Oriyomi Onanuga (APC, Ogun) as Deputy Chief Whip.

The Minority Caucus equally has Kingsley Chinda (PDP-Rivers) as Minority Leader; Aliyu Sani Madaki (NNPP-Nano), Deputy Minority Leader; Ali Isa (PDP-Gombe), Minority Whip; and George Ozodinobi (LP-Anambra) as Deputy Minority Whip.

Consequently, the Ad-hoc Committee has scheduled a screening session with the newly appointed Service Chiefs on Monday, July 17, 2023.

President Bola Tinubu had conveyed the nominations and request for confirmation to the National Assembly via a letter dated July 5, 2023, addressed to the President of the Senate, Senator Godswill Akpabio and Speaker Tajudeen Abbas.