Kwara Governor wins polling unit

  • Makinde wins at Ladoja’s polling unit
  • PDP floors APC in El-Rufai’s government house

The Kwara State Governor, AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq, has won his Idi-Igba Polling Unit 004 of Adewole Ward in Ilorin West Local Government Area of the state.

Uba Group

Official results by the Independent National Electoral Commission showed that APC polled 243 votes in the governorship ballot as against PDP’s 58.

The governor had earlier urged more voters to come out to exercise their franchise, following reports of low turnouts in some areas.

His polling unit and many areas of Adewole ward however recorded large turnouts.

“It’s been a mixed bag in terms of the turnout — appreciably large in some places and quite low in some areas — and we urge more people to come out,” he told reporters after voting alongside his wife, Ambassador Olufolake AbdulRazaq, and other members of his family.

“Going by the turnout in this polling unit, this is impressive. But nationwide, including in parts of Kwara State, the turnout is a bit lower than in the presidential and national assembly elections.

“On the BVAS, the reports so far show that there are improvements, compared to the last elections,” he said.

The governor also commended the early arrival of polling officers, expressing optimism about being re-elected by Kwarans on the back of his performance in various sectors of the state.

In Oyo State, the Governor, Seyi Makinde of the People’s Democratic Party, has won at the polling unit of former Governor Rashidi Ladoja.

There has been a widespread rumour that Ladoja was not in support of the second term ambition of Makinde, a rumour which was publicly debunked by the ex-governor.

The PDP polled 98 votes to defeat the All Progressives Congress’ candidate, Teslim Folarin, who scored 35 votes at unit 17, ward 10 in the Ibadan North Local Government Area of the state.

Meanwhile, the PDP has floored the APC in one of the polling units in Sir Kashim Ibrahim Government House, Kaduna in Saturday’s governorship poll.

The main opposition party’s candidate, Isa Ashiru Kudan, won polling unit 014 with 77 votes while APC’s Uba Sani scored 40 votes.

The Presiding Officer, Mohammed Baso, who announced the result, said the Labour Party scored 0, PRP 1, NNPP 1 while 7 invalid votes were recorded.