Lagos PDP inaugurates Presidential Campaign Committee



Uba Group

The Lagos State chapter of the People’s Democratic Party has inaugurated a 103-member campaign committee to mobilise votes for the party, ahead of the 2023 general elections.

The party’s Assistant Legal Adviser, Mustapha Okandeji, inaugurated the committee in Ikeja on Friday, as he urged them to labour night and day to return the party to power.

Advising the committee to be guided by the party’s constitution and relevant electoral law and guidelines, Okandeji urged them to mobilise votes for the party’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar and his running mate, Ifeanyi Okowa.

The Chairman of the committee, Adedeji Doherty, said it was time for the party to return to power at the federal level and also take over Lagos state, describing the forthcoming election as another challenging season for the party.

“We need to work very hard in conjunction with other PDP state chapters to return our party to power at the federal level, for the good of our country and the Nigerian people,” Doherty said.

He expressed the resolve of the PDP to win the state, assuring that the twin-structure of the Presidential Campaign Council and the Presidential Campaign Management Committee being inaugurated would do the party proud.

He promised to work with the party’s governorship candidate, Abdul-Azeez Adediran (Jandor), who would be serving on the council as Vice Chairman.

He also promised to work with the State Director of PCMC, Atolagbe Animashaun, and other reputable and experienced leaders to mobilise votes for PDP.

The campaign council is being assisted by 18 directorates in the campaign committee, headed by a deputy director.

The directorates and their heads include: Media and Publicity (Oluseun Soyinka), Field Operations (David Vaughan), Research and Strategy (Rahman Owokoniran), Volunteer Groups (Taiwo Kuye).

Also inaugurated were: Finance (Alaketu Adedoyin), Election Management (Capt. Olatunji Shelle) and Religious/Cultural Engagement (Hajiya Safurat Abdul-Kareem).

Others were: Documentation/Reporting (Adetokunbo Pearse), ICT/Situation Room (Niyi Adams), Training (Wole Adewunmi),

Also inaugurated included Non-Yoruba Speaking-South East (Jude Obiekwe), Non-Yoruba Speaking-South South (Odili Ofili), and Non-Yoruba Speaking- Arewa (Auwal Maude).

The committees also included: Election Management-Ikeja Division (Sunday Olaifa), Election Management-Lagos Division (Tolani Animashaun), Election Management-Epe Division (Taiye Benedict).

The rest were: Election Management-Ikorodu Division (Niyi Sotomiwa) and Election Management-Badagry Division (Adio Salami).

Members of the committees included the party’s state executive council and other leaders of the party in the state.

Some notable leaders who made the list included Jimi Agbaje, Ade Dosunmu, Philip Aivoji, Gomez Adewale, Abimbola Ogunkelu, Dapo Sarumi, Bayo Williams, and Wahab Owokoniran.


Others included Tanwa Olusi, Fatia Shodimu, Wellington Bankole, Tajudeen Obasa, Sola Osolana, Setonji Koshoedo, and Idowu Akinsanya, among others.