LASU rewards outstanding staff as VC vows to sustain programme


In an effort to encourage members of staff to give their best in service delivery, the management of the Lagos State University, Ojo, has rewarded some workers found to have been outstanding and exceptional in the discharge of their duties in 2016.

Uba Group

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. ‘Lanre Fagbohun, who awarded two senior staff and 21 security personnel cash prizes, thanked the entire staff of the university for their immense support and hard work in the last one year since his assumption of office.

Fagbohun said every staff in LASU deserved an award but not everyone could be given at the same time.

He said, “It is to celebrate excellence in teaching, research and service delivery. If you look back at what has happened in the last one year, you will see that things have changed in the institution.

Everyone is appreciated but we have been able to pick some that are beyond limits. “Excellence is what we are radiating in the university because if you look at what our students are doing in the last one year, you will see they have joined in the good things.”

Explaining how the awardees were chosen, Prof. Fagbohun said students were involved in the selection process, without knowing it so that the selection could be objective and fair.

He said though the award was not going with cash for now, it was to show that that the university appreciated what individuals were doing to improve the school.

The Vice-Chancellor also disclosed that the award had come to stay, adding that it would be sustained it even after his tenure. Some of the awardees include Prof. Gabriel Shonaike of the Chemical and Polymer Engineering Department, who won the “Overall Teaching Excellence” award; Dr. Olufemi Fatile of Public Administration got the second Overall Teaching Excellence award, while Dr. Kehinde Amisu of Microbiology got the third position.

It is to celebrate excellence in teaching, research and service delivery… Everyone is appreciated but we have been able to pick some that are beyond limits

At the Faculty category, Dr. Afisi Oseni of the Philosophy Department won the ‘Teaching Excellence’ award for the Faculty of Arts; Mrs. Latifat Yahya of Education Management won that of the Faculty of Education and Dr. Edu Hamzat of the International and Islamic Law Department won the Faculty of Law Teaching Excellence award.

Others are Dr. Jimoh Bamgbose for Faculty of Social Sciences, Dr. Asinime Charles won that of the School of Transport and Mrs. Omolade Atofojomo got that of the School of Communication Other categories included the non-teaching staff, junior and senior, departmental category, senior and junior and sports.

Past students of the school were also given awards at the ceremony for sports performance. The likes of the former commissioner in Lagos State, Mr. Enitan Oshodi; Africa Table Tennis Champion, Mr. Haruna Quadri and Nigeria’s first gold medalist, Mrs. Chioma Ajuwa, were recognised for their contribution to sports development.

The highlight of the ceremony was when the Vice-Chancellor called two senior staff for the award of efficient service delivery with personal cash awards from the Vice Chancellor attached to it. Mrs. Bosede Amoo of the university’s Multimedia unit got a plaque and a cheque of N300,000, while Mr. Kehinde Ismail of the Registrar’s office got a plaque and N250,000.

Also at the ceremony, the Quality Assurance Implementation Committee gave out awards to staff of the university, who participated in all the online training modules and distinguished themselves.

Prof Fagbohun was also presented with an award by the QAIC.

Prof. Peter Okebukola, who supervised the presentation of the awards, described the LASU VC as the best vice-chancellor in Nigeria because of his vision, intelligence and charisma.