NASS LEADERSHIP: APC rejects N’Central, zones Senate leadership to S’South, N’West


  • Ayade, Gemade, Obanikoro, Solomon, 68 other non-serving senators endorse Akpabio
  • Tajudeen Abass, Ben Kalu to take over from Gbajabiamila, Wase in House of Reps
  • Uba Group

The ruling All Progressives Congress on Monday officially announced the immediate past Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godwin Akpabio, as its consensus candidate for the position of Senate presidency in the 10th Assembly.

Akpabio is to be assisted by the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriation, Jibrin Barau, who would be the new Deputy Senate President.

In the Green Chamber, the seat of Speaker of the House of Representatives was zoned to popular Kaduna lawmaker, Tajudeen Abass, while the Reps-elect from South East clinched the Deputy Speaker slot.

Rising from its three-and-a-half hour crucial meeting of the National Working Committee of the party, the National Publicity Secretary, Felix Morka, told journalists that only the zoning of two principal offices in both the Senate and House of Representatives has so far been decided.

Morka, who was flanked by the National Women Leader of the APC, Betta Edu and Deputy National Women Leader, Hajia Zainab Ibrahim, at the press conference however reassured Nigerians that the leadership of the party will continue to consult with stakeholders.

According to him, the zoning and consensus candidates were done in consultation with the president-elect, Bola Tinubu, at the meeting they held on Friday.

He said, “The National Working Committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) met today to consider reports of consultations and meetings held with the President-elect, His Excellency, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, other Party leaders and stakeholders on zoning arrangements for 10th National Assembly leadership positions.

“The NWC noted with respect the outcome of the meetings held between the President-elect and the leadership of the NWC. The NWC called for further and better consultation with necessary stakeholders in order to assure the support of the aspirants to the National Assembly leadership positions and members of the Party nationwide.

“The zoning arrangement reported to the NWC is as follows: SENATE: Senate President – South-South Senator Godswill Akpabio (Akwa Ibom); Deputy Senate President – North West-Senator Barau Jubrin (Kano).

“HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES: Speaker – House of Representatives North West- Abass Tajudeen (Kaduna) and Deputy Speaker South East, Ben Kalu (Abia).

“We urge our party leaders, members and all Nigerians to continue to work for peace and progress of our country during and beyond the current period of leadership transition.”

When asked to explain why North Central was left of the two principal offices in both chambers, Morka declined comments and made his way out, saying “No question, please.”

The absence of North Central confirmed earlier fears of demonstrators who stormed the APC secretariat to register their displeasure about the alleged marginalisation and the position of the party on the zoning formula.

72 non-serving senators endorse Akpabio for Senate presidency

As the race for the 10th Senate presidency gets ‘tougher’, 72 non-serving senators have endorsed former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, to head the 10th Senate.

Earlier, the Governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Ganduje, projected Akpabio as the next senate president.


A former senator representing Kano Central, Basheer Lado, in a press conference in Abuja on Monday, on behalf of the group expressed support for the zoning of the position of the president of the 10th senate, to the south-south geo-political zone of Nigeria

“We, in the spirit of equity, fairness, political expediency and following extensive consultations with stakeholders, hereby express our total support for the zoning of the position of the president of the 10th senate, to the south-south geo-political zone of Nigeria,” he said.

“We also affirm our unfettered support for the position of the president of the 10th Senate who also doubles as the chairman of the National Assembly to be conferred on His Excellency, Distinguished Senator Godswill Obot Akpabio, CON.”

He added that the position of senate president represents the third position in the hierarchy of our current democratic dispensational and that this position “carries considerable weight in discharging vital constitutional responsibilities and charting the right course for our national development.”

“It is also important that the holder of such a position enjoys the confidence and support of the party leadership and that of his peers as Senator Godswill Akpabio undoubtedly does.

“With this same spirit of fairness, we also affirm our solid support that the position of deputy president of the 10th senate is conceded to distinguished senator Barau I. Jubril, CON, representing Kano north senatorial zone, Kano state.”

The list of the senators routing for Akpabio here: Ben Ayade; George Akume; Basheer Lado; Rilwan Akanbi; Barnabas Gemade; Grace Bent; Binta Masi Garba; Ayogu Eze; Andy Uba; Ibrahim Ida; Olorunnimbe Mamora; Anthony Adeniyi; Ganiyu Solomon; Gbenga Obadara

Gbenga Kaka; Musiliu Obanikoro; Arise Ayo Felix Kolawole Bajomo; Hassain Mudashiru; Domingo Obende

Wilson Ake; Ita Enang; Heineken Lokpobiri; Clever Ikisikpo.

Others include Ita Giwa; Ibrahim Musa; Alex Kadiri; Ocheja Emma Dangana; Jibriu Wowo; Isa Maina; Mohammed Ohiare; Abubakar Sodangi; Joseph Akaagerger; Jack Tilley Gyado; Abubakar Tutare

Bello Tukur; Ahmed Barata; Abba Aji; Mohammed A. Mohammed; Umar Idris; Talba Sidi Ali; Timothy Adudu

Ishaq Adebayo Salman; Akin Odunsi; Seye Ogunlewe; Fatima Raji Rasaki; Lanre Tejuoso; Nkechi Nwaogu; Margery Chuba Okadigbo; Mohammed Saleh; Sani Kanba; Abubakar Abdullahi Naamo; Danladi Sankara; Mohammed Ibrahim; Sola Adeyeye; Anthony AgboIkechukwu Obior; Chris Adighije; Emma Anosike Jalo Zarami; Alkali Jajere; Oladipo Odujinrin; Mohammed Alkali; Sunday Ogbuoji; Abu Ibrahim; Bello Maitama; Saddiq Yar’adua; Jide Omoworare; Anthony Manzo; Aminu Inuwa; and Magnus Abe.