New government in Ekiti as Oyebanji is sworn in as governor



Uba Group

Abiodun Oyebanji of the All Progressives Congress was on Sunday sworn-in as the governor of Ekiti State.

Oyebanji, former Secretary to the State Government, was sworn in by the State Chief Judge, Justice Oyewole Adeyeye at the Government House, Ado Ekiti at about 12:53 pm

Dignitaries present include the presidential candidate of the APC, Bola Tinubu; Ondo State Governor, Rotimi Akeredolu and his Plateau State counterpart, Simon Lalong.

Others included Governors Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Godwin Obaseki (Edo), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun) among others.

Oyebanji was declared winner of the Ekiti State governorship election after polling 187,057 votes.

He defeated his two closest challengers — Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party who polled 82,211 votes, and Bisi Kolawole of the People’s Democratic Party who got 67,457 votes.