Obi announced winner in Abuja



Uba Group

The presidential candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi, has emerged as the winner of the presidential election in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

Obi, a former Governor of Anambra State, secured 281,717 votes, Bola Tinubu of the ruling APC polled 90,902 votes while Atiku Abubakar of the PDP got 74,199 votes.

The Labour Party candidate defeated his closest challenger with 19,0815 votes.

A total of 478,923 people were accredited to vote in Abuja, meaning Obi secured about 59 per cent of the votes cast. Neither Tinubu (19 per cent) nor Atiku (15 per cent) scored up to 25 per cent of the votes in the Nigerian capital.

The Federal Capital Territory has six area councils—Gwagwalada, Abaji, Kwali, Gwagwalada, Bwari and Abuja Municipal.

Out of the six area councils, Labour Party won four, while the APC won two.