Ogun inaugurates Road Safety Advisory Committee


To install cameras on state highways

Uba Group


As part of efforts at reducing road crashes in Ogun State, Governor Dapo Abiodun has inaugurated the state Road Safety Advisory Committee, urging members to discharge their duties diligently.

According to Abiodun, the committee would be chaired by his deputy, Noimot Salako-Oyedele.

The governor said, during the inauguration on Wednesday, that his administration would enforce speed limit as part of efforts to reduce carnages on the state roads.

He said that speed readers and cameras would also be installed on the roads to monitor compliance with traffic rules and regulations.

Abiodun added that the State Traffic Compliance and Enforcement Corps would be provided with adequate logistics and human resources while the Vehicle Inspection Office would be repositioned to ensure that vehicles plying the roads were in good condition.

“We have observed the rapid increase of accidents on some of our roads. Consequently, we will be enforcing speed limits through the use of speed readers and camera, whilst providing emergency services such as tow trucks, ambulances and fire trucks to assist accident victims,” he said.

Noting the importance of road in the socio-economic life of Nigerians, Abiodun said that though efforts were being made to improve on air, water and rail transportation, his administration would continue to pay attention to roads and how to make them safe for the users.

The governor stated that his administration was partnering with the Federal Government and industries in the state on road rehabilitation under the Free Tax system.

In his remarks, the Sector Commander, Federal Road Safety Corps, Ahmed Umar, said that the state would take its rightful place by placing premium on safety.

Other members of the Committee are commissioners for Transportation, Works and Infrastructure; Health, Justice, Education, Finance, Information and Strategy, Physical Planning and Urban Development, Special Adviser to the Governor on Environment, and the representative of the Nigeria Society of Engineers.