Ondo elongates council bosses’ tenure


The Ondo State House of Assembly has elongated the tenure of caretaker committees of all the 18 local governments of the state for another six months. The approval was given during a plenary session of the House in Akure, Ondo State.

Uba Group

The House, presided over by the Speaker, Jumoke Akindele, agreed that there was no need to over-stress the issue since democracy and governance had to be sustained. A member representing the Akoko North West constituency 2, Hon. Gbenga Araoyinbo, moved the motion to grant the extension of tenure of the committees.

Quoting section 12 (4), 1 and 2 Local Government Law 2007, as amended, the Araoyinbo said there should be no vacuum in the administration of the local governments. The lawmaker sought the cooperation of all members to grant the approval of the tenure extension request of Governor Olusegun Mimiko. The request of the governor had earlier been read at the floor of the House by the Clerk, Mr Bode Adeyelu.

The motion was seconded by Hon. Olamide George, representing Akure North constituency. Meanwhile, the House has invited four commissioner nominees to appear before the House Committee on Selection on December 1, 2015. The nominees include Mrs. Yetunde Adeyanju, Mr Dayo Awude, Mr Femi Adekanbi and Mr Segun Ayerin.