• Appoints new bosses for Military, Police, Customs
  • Ribadu is NSA, Egbetokun is acting IGP
  • Other key appointees named

Top brass of the armed forces, the Police and the Customs Service were removed and replaced on Monday by President Bola Tinubu, apparently to consolidate his hold on power three weeks after he took the oath of office as Nigeria’s 16th President.

This was contained in a statement released by the Director of Information, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Willie Bassey.

Tinubu also removed the Inspector General of Police, Usman Alkali Baba and the Comptroller General of Customs, Col. Hameed Ibrahim Ali (retd).

Adeniyi Bashir Adewale takes over as the Acting Comptroller General of Customs.

Consequently the President promoted the former Deputy Inspector General of Police and supervising DIG for the South West geo-political zone, Kayode Egbetokun as the Acting Inspector General of Police and fired all the other service chiefs – General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Lt General Farouk Yahaya, Chief of Army Staff; Vice Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The new Service Chiefs are: Mallam Nuhu Ribadu, National Security Adviser (North East-Adamawa State); Major General Christopher Gwabin Musa, Chief of Defence Staff (North West – Sokoto State); Major General Taoreed Abiodun Lagbaja Chief of Army Staff (South West- Osun State); Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ikechukwu Ogalla, Chief of Naval Staff (South East-Enugu State); Air Vice Marshal Hassan Bala Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff (North West – Kano State); DIG Kayode Egbetokun Acting Inspector General of Police (South West – Ogun State); Major General Emmanuel Parker Akomaye Undiandeye, Chief of Defense Intelligence (South South- Obudu Cross River State).

The presidency noted that all the appointments are in acting capacities pending confirmation by the National Assembly.

The President has also approved the following appointments: Col. Adebisi Onasanya, Brigade of Guards Commander; Lt. Col. Moshood Abiodun Yusuf, 7 Guards Battalion, Asokoro, Abuja; Lt. Col. Auwalu Baba Inuwa 177, Guards Battalion, Keffi, Nasarawa State; Lt. Col. Mohammed J. Abdulkarim 102 Guards Battalion, Suleja, Niger; Lt. Col. Olumide A. Akingbesote 176 Guards Battalion, Gwagwalada, Abuja

Similarly, the President has approved the appointments of other Military Officers in the Presidential Villa as follows: Maj. Isa Farouk Audu, (N/14695) Commanding Officer State House Artillery; Capt. Kazeem Olalekan Sunmonu (N/16183) Second-in-Command, State House Artillery; Maj. Kamaru Koyejo Hamzat (N/14656) Commanding Officer, State House Military Intelligence; Maj. TS Adeola (N/12860) Commanding Officer, State House Armament; Lt. A. Aminu (N/18578) Second-in- Command, State House Armament

President Tinubu also approved the appointments of two additional Special Advisers, and two Senior Assistants.

They are: Hadiza Bala Usman Special Adviser, Policy Coordination; Hannatu Musa Musawa Special Adviser, Culture and Entertainment Economy; Sen. Abdullahi Abubakar Gumel, Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (Senate) and Hon. (Barr) Olarewaju Kunle Ibrahim, Senior Special Assistant, National Assembly Matters (House of Representatives).

The acting Inspector General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun, was born on September 4, 1964 in Erinja, Yewa South Local Government Area of Ogun State.

Egbetokun bagged a Bachelor of Science Degree (BSC) in Mathematics from the University of Lagos. Before he joined the Nigeria Police Force, he had also lectured mathematics briefly at the Yaba College of Technology, Lagos.

He also earned a Master of Science Degree in Engineering Analysis, a Postgraduate Diploma (PGD) in Petroleum Economics from Delta State University, and an MBA from Lagos State University.

Egbetokun was enlisted into the Nigeria Police Force on March 3, 1990 as a Cadet Assistant Superintendent of Police in Course 16. He was the Chief Security Officer to Tinubu when the latter became Lagos State Governor in 1999.

The acting IGP has held several commands and units. He was Commander of the Rapid Response Squad in Lagos from 2005 to 2007, Squadron Commander of the 5 PMF in Benin City, Officer-in-Charge of Anti-Fraud in the FCT Command, Area Commander in Osogbo, Osun State, Area Commander in Gusau, Zamfara State, Commandant of the Police Training School in Ikeja, Lagos and Deputy Commandant of the Police College in Ikeja,

He was also Commissioner of Police, Servicom at the Force Headquarters in Abuja, Commissioner of Police, Explosive Ordinance Disposal and Commissioner of Police, of Kwara State Police Command.

Egbetokun also served as the Assistant Inspector-General in charge of Zone 7 Abuja, overseeing Niger Police Command and the FCT Command.

Until his latest appointment, he was DIG representing South West zone in the police management team.