Monday, April 15, 2024

Umahi, Lawan win senatorial elections in Yobe, Ebonyi

  • Obi leads in Delta State

Ebonyi Governor David Umahi has been declared the senator-elect for Ebonyi South. Umahi, candidate of the All Progressives Congress, scored 28,378 votes to defeat his rivals, Linus Okorie of Labour Party who scored 25, 496, votes to come second while Eleje of APGA scored 11,398 votes to come third.

The INEC Returning officer, Prof. Augustine Ogugua Egwu of Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ndufu Alike Ikwo, declared Umahi elected.
Also the member representing Afikpo North/South federal constituency, Ebonyi State, in the House of Representatives, Iduma Igariwey, defeated his All Progressives Congress rival, Eni Uduma Chima.

Igariwey, a PDP lawmaker, who is the Vice Chairman, House Committee on Appropriation, got 24,649 votes while Chima got 11,296 votes.

The result was announced at the constituency headquarters in Afikpo North by an INEC official.

Igariwey was reelected for a third term in the House.

The House of Representatives candidate of Labour Party, Nkemkanma Kama, contesting for Ohaozara, Onicha and Ivo federal constituency was also declared winner.

Kama scored 19921 votes to defeat his closest rival of the APC, Fidelix Igboke, who scored 14,231, while PDP candidate, Livinus Maker, scored 7,506 to come third.

The INEC Returning Officer, Onu Omaka who announced the results, said that Kama, having satisfied all the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner of the election.

In Yobe State, the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, won a record fifth consecutive seat by a landslide in the Yobe North Senatorial election.

The Senate President was declared winner on Sunday night by INEC which announced that Lawan polled 91,318 votes, representing 74.7 per cent of the total valid votes (122,193), to defeat his closest rival, Bello Ilu of PDP who polled 22,849 votes.

According to the Special Adviser (Media) to the Senate President, Ola Awoniyi, “This is the seventh parliamentary election won consecutively by Lawan into the National Assembly since 1999, the first two of which gave him ticket to the House of Representatives while the last five gave him ticket to the Senate.”

Meanwhile, the Presidential Candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi, is leading in the results so far declared in Delta State, home state of the vice presidential candidate of the PDP, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.

The results are from five of the six local government areas of Delta State already declared.

The state’s Collation Officer, Prof. Owunari Georgewill , the Vice-Chancellor, University of Port Harcourt, Rivers state announced the results yesterday in Asaba Delta Capital.

LP is closely followed by the PDP with the APC in the third position.

The results collated were of Ika South, Ika North East, Aniocha North, Ethiope East and Oshimili North LGA’s.

Although Labour Party swept the polls in Ethiope East LGA, a stronghold of All Progressives Grand Alliance gubernatorial candidate, Great Ogboru, it failed to win in Ika North East, Governor Ifeanyi Okowa’s local government area.

Popular Articles