Yobe Speaker loses sixth term bid to PDP



Uba Group

The Speaker of the Yobe State House of Assembly, Ahmed Mirwa Lawan, has lost his seat to Lawan Musa, a 35-year-old candidate of the People’s Democratic Party for Nguru II Constituency.

The Returning Officer of the election, Habib Muhammad, who announced the results on Sunday, said Musa scored 6,648 votes to defeat the Yobe Speaker of the All Progressives Congress who got 6,466 votes.

He said other candidates of ADC, NNPP and APM secured 3,023 and 14 votes respectively.

The Yobe Speaker has been in the house since 2003 when he was elected as a member under All Nigeria People’s Party.