Waive retains Reps seat as APC floors PDP, LP in Delta


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the member representing Ughelli North, Ughelli South and Udu Federal Constituency at the House of Representatives, Rev. Francis Ejiroghene Waive, as the winner of last Saturday’s election.

Uba Group

Waive, who is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Saturday’s National Assembly election, defeated the candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Solomon Ahwinahwi and that of the Labour Party in the keenly contested election.

The Returning Officer for the Ughelli North, Ughelli South and Udu Federal Constituency, Prof. (Mrs.) Mary Edema, announced the results on Tuesday at the INEC collation office in Ughelli, Delta State.

Prof. Edema said Waive of the APC polled 42,226 votes from the three councils to emerge winner of the exercise.

The candidate of the PDP, Ahwinahwi, a former two term member representing the area, scored 32,391 votes to come second in the election.

However, the Labour Party candidate polled 20,304 votes to come third while APGA garnered 3,934 votes.

Waive is the only APC Reps member from Delta State in the 9th National Assembly. He is the only APC Reps candidate in the last Saturday’s election to have won a seat in the election.