APC claims Adamawa rerun election


Candidate of All Progressive Congress, Talatu Yohana, has been declared winner of the Saturday’s Numan, Demsa and Lamurde Federal Constituency rerun election in Adamawa State.

Uba Group

The returning officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission in the state, Mr. Pascal Timtere, declared Yohana of the APC as winner of the election. The Point gathered that Yohana won with a total of 24,126 votes, Michael Zidon of the Peoples Democratic Party polled 11,513 votes as the first runner up. Peoples Democratic Movement got 6,320 votes and CPP had 222 votes among others.

The total number of registered voters was 178,471 while 44,577 voters were accredited; total valid votes 42,735; total rejected votes 1,293; and total number of votes cast 44,028.
Last year, the court of appeal sitting in Abuja nullified the election of Kwamoti Laori of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and ordered for a rerun of the election.

By Adeleke Adesanya